Now Reading
FDA Releases List of Cereals that Are No Longer Healthy

FDA Releases List of Cereals that Are No Longer Healthy

Long marketed as healthy options for starting one’s day, certain cereals are no longer considered nutritious by the FDA

In an effort to continually update its healthy guidelines, the FDA has released a list of cereals that can no longer claim to be labeled as healthy. The new guidance was proposed after the White House Conference on Hunger, Nutrition, and Health, in a larger effort to close health disparity gaps by 2030. According to the FDA, 80% of people in the United States, are not eating enough vegetables, fruit, and dairy, and most consume too much sugar, saturated fat, and sodium.

“Nutrition is key to improving our nation’s health,” said Department of Health and Human Services Secretary Xavier Becerra. “Healthy food can lower our risk for chronic disease. But too many people may not know what constitutes healthy food. FDA’s move will help educate more Americans to improve health outcomes, tackle health disparities, and save lives.”

In order to receive the “healthy” label from the FDA, cereals need three-fourth ounces of whole grains and no more than 1 gram of saturated fat, 230 milligrams of sodium, and 2.5 grams of added sugars. Here are the cereals that no longer make the cut:

See Also

  1. Raison Bran (9 grams of added sugars)
  2. Honey Nut Cheerios (12 grams of added sugars)
  3. Corn Flakes (300 milligrams of sodium; 4 grams of added sugars)
  4. Honey Bunches of Oats (8 grams of added sugars)
  5. Honey Roasted (8 grams of added sugars)
  6. Frosted Mini Wheats (12 grams of added sugars)
  7. Life (8 grams of added sugars)
  8. Special K (270 milligrams of sodium; 4 grams of added sugars)
  9. Kashi Go Original Cereal (7 grams of added sugars)
  10. Rice Chex (330 milligrams of sodium)

Photo by Rachael Gorjestani on Unsplash

Scroll To Top